English football league system explained

The English Football League System or the Football Pyramid is a series of interconnected associated leagues for men’s football clubs in England. It also includes five teams from Wales and one team from Guernsey, Jersey, and the Isle of Man. This system has a specific hierarchical format with promotion and devotion among leagues at different levels. The good thing about this system is that it allows even the most inferior team an opportunity to rise to the top. There are more than 140 separate leagues in this league system, which comprises more than 480 divisions. Approximately 7000 teams of nearly 5300 clubs are a part of this English Football league system.

English Football league and difference among others

English Football league system is considered one of the most aggressive leagues of the UEFA (Union of European Football Associations). Research shows that the top five leagues of the UEFA, Bundesliga, La Liga, Ligue 1, Premier League, and Serie A have very trivial technical differences. Each of these five leagues is characterized by a peculiar match-play style because of the cultural, social, and historical differences.

Teams from English Premier League, unlike other leagues, are featured in a direct style with a notable emphasis on the significance of the players’ physical attributes like strength, speed, work rate, etc., which exhibits its agility. Italian teams are recognized by rigid tactical requirements for the defensive organization. Spanish leagues are known for prioritizing ball possession and player’s individual technical ability to control the game in their hands. The German and French leagues generally focus on physically strong and able players to build a strong defensive team structure.

How many levels of English football are there?

The league system of English Football consists of a pyramid of leagues, formed on promotion and relegation. There are currently nine levels in English Football with different rules of qualifications and eliminations.

Level-1 is the Premier League or the ‘Top Flight,’ which contains 20 clubs within it. Next is the English Football League, which has 24 clubs with three divisions, namely:

Level 2: The Championship

Level 3: League One

Level 4: League Two

The clubs till Level four are full-time professional clubs. Level 5 is the National League, which holds the top position of non-league football and has 24 clubs. Like the top 4, this league is also a professional competitive league, although some promoted clubs get a chance to enjoy the part-time status. Level 6 has two divisions as National League North and National League South, with 22 clubs each. Level 7 has three regional leagues associated with different geographical areas, with 22 teams each. These are the Northern Premier League, Southern Football League, and Isthmian League. Level 8 has two parallel divisions of 20 teams each. The last level (Level 9) consists of the top divisions of a large group of 14 sub-regional leagues, with each having a different tier set-up. These leagues generally cover smaller geographical areas.

Is La Liga better than EPL?

The Premier League is considered one of the most competitive leagues globally, with clubs like Manchester United, Arsenal, Tottenham, and Chelsea a part of it. La Liga has the two best football teams in the world: F.C. Barcelona and Real Madrid. There have been varied opinions given by experts upon this controversy of the best.

EPL has become a league where either Manchester United or Arsenal contests the title. The value of all other thousands of clubs in the league is negligible in front of these teams even though they might be better than Arsenal or MU. The simple reason is the billionaire backing, and the stars present in these top two clubs are religiously followed, even worshipped by football fans. Premier League matches are quick and accelerating in comparison to La Liga. The players in La Liga are permitted to display individual skills.

But the above arguments do not make La Liga better than EPL. English Premier League opens up a wide tank of opportunities for players from top to bottom to display their skills and provides a plethora of chances to them to reach the top, unlike La Liga. The swiftness and work rate in EPL matches showcases that the running speed of players of EPL is better than those of La Liga.

There cannot be a sure shot answer to this controversy. Both the leagues have their player characteristics, different league prizes, and different tactics and formations.

Who is promoted to the Premier League 2021?

The promoted teams to Premier League 2021 are Leeds United, West Bromwich Albion, and Fulham, after respective top flight absences of sixteen, two, and one. They replaced Bournemouth, Watford (both teams relegated after five years in the top flight), and Norwich City (relegated after only a year back in the top flight).

Leeds won the EFL Championship and was the first club to get promoted to the Premier League 21 and West Bromwich Albion, who were convicted as the runner ups in the tournament. This season of Premier League could see a good competition as all the teams would be looking forward to winning the prestigious title and stealing the throne from Liverpool.


The English Premier League System has been a unique hierarchy, which makes it competitive and fascinating to watch all the clubs giving their best to beat the best. A certain advantage is given to Manchester’s clubs, and they always remain the favorites to win the title. The other clubs should also be given recognition with proper funding for hiring experienced coaches and to purchase quality equipment to enhance their skills and prepare them for the higher level. Yet, it is inevitable that the league has opened up multiple opportunities for players from the low background, and the enhanced competition allows the management to choose the best.


Related posts:

Comments Off